About Us  / Contact

The Rapides Area Planning Commission or "RAPC" is a regional organization providing land use planning, development review, technical assistance, geographical information, and other planning and enforcement services for member governments as well as other partnered political subdivisions.  RAPC is governed by a board of commissioners, which are appointed by the member jurisdictions.  In addition to the core functions of subdivision and development review (including floodplain management), RAPC is the fiscal agent and provides the operational staff for several regional organizations:

1.  the Alexandria-Pineville Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), which provides transportation planning through technical analysis (feasibility, environmental review, travel demand modeling) and transportation project funding prioritization for the urbanized area consisting of Alexandria, Pineville, portions of Ball and Woodworth, as well as adjacent pockets of unincorporated Rapides Parish; furthermore, the MPO provides transit planning for both the urbanized area and the rural, eight-parish Kisatchie-Delta Planning and Development District;


2. the Kisatchie-Delta Regional Code Compliance Office, which provides building code enforcement to partnered jurisdictions in Central Louisiana per the Louisiana State Uniform Construction Code through plan review, permitting, and inspections;


3. the Central Louisiana Regional Infrastructure Beltway Commission, which was created by legislation in 2009 “for the purpose of establishing and constructing a transportation and utility corridor for the growth of residential, commercial, and industrial developments serving the urban and rural areas of Rapides and south Grant parishes;”


4. and the Central Louisiana Highway Safety Coalition, which exists to promote highway safety throughout 10 central Louisiana parishes through education, enforcement, engineering, and emergency response.


These functions are carried out by the four divisions within RAPC as depicted:



RAPC Staff consists of 17 professionals with 53 professional certifications, 3 graduate degrees, and 8 undergraduate degrees.  RAPC staff represent CenLa throughout the state and nation with posts consisting of Chair of Louisiana Floodplain Managers Association (LFMA), Treasurer of LFMA, President of the Building Officials Association of Louisiana, President of Louisiana Planning Council, Director of Louisiana Transportation Authority, Director of the Louisiana Community Development Authority, Member of Association of Metropolitan Planning Organizations (AMPO) Technical Committee, Member of AMPO Policy Committee; and Member(s) of and Newsletter Editor for the American Planning Association (Transportation Planning Division).








Rapides Area Planning Commission

803 Johnston Street

Alexandria, Louisiana 71301